PUMA Genealogy

A Dissertation-based Genealogy of Research at German Universities


What Is PUMA Genealogy?

PUMA Genealogy creates a genealogy of research at German universities based on user inputs. It is based on the dissertation catalog of the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek (DNB). Users enter linkages between existing dissertations (advisor information etc.) and provide information about missing dissertations.
genealogy

Who Can Participate?

Researchers of all fields and disciplines. Dissertation authors can link their work to their advisor (their “Doktorvater”) and search for their roots in academia. Advisors can document the dissertations of their former students. All users contribute to the reconstruction of an interdisciplinary genealogy of research in Germany.
dataset

How Does PUMA Genealogy Work?

PUMA Genealogy builds on the competence and experience of PUMA, the non-commercial platform for sharing publications and bookmarks. User registration and secure data management are implemented via the PUMA platform. Data are exclusively used for non-commercial science and higher education research.
reg

Who is behind PUMA Genealogy?

PUMA Genealogy is a joint project of the International Centre for Higher Education Research (INCHER-Kassel) and the Interdisciplinary Research Center for Information System Design (ITeG) at the University of Kassel. It is supported by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).
wiskidz

PUMA Genealogie

Dissertationsbasierter Stammbaum der Forschung an deutschen Universitäten


Was ist die PUMA Genealogie?

Die PUMA Genealogie erstellt nutzerbasiert einen Stammbaum der Forschung an deutschen Universitäten. Ausgangspunkt ist der Dissertationskatalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek. Nutzerbasiert werden Beziehungen zwischen den an der Dissertation beteiligten Personen (Autor_in, Betreuer_in etc.) ergänzt.
genealogy

Wer kann mitmachen?

Forscherinnen und Forscher aller Fächer und Disziplinen. Promovierte können ihre Dissertation mit ihrem Doktorvater bzw. ihrer Doktormutter verknüpfen und nach ihren Wurzeln in der Wissenschaft suchen. Betreuerinnen und Betreuer können die von ihnen betreuten Arbeiten dokumentieren. Und alle zusammen tragen dazu bei, einen fächerübergreifenden Stammbaum der Forschung in Deutschland zu erstellen.
dataset

Wie funktioniert die PUMA Genealogie?

Die Genealogie nutzt die Kompetenz und Erfahrung des nicht-kommerziellen Social Bookmarking-Programms PUMA, der Plattform zum einfachen Teilen von Publikationen und Bookmarks. Die Nutzerregistrierung und gesicherte Datenverwaltung erfolgt über die Bibsonomy-Plattform. Die Daten werden nur zu Forschungszwecken im Bereich der Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung verwendet.
reg

Wer steckt hinter dem Projekt?

Die PUMA Genealogie ist ein vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördertes Projekt des International Centre for Higher Education Research (INCHER-Kassel) und des Forschungszentrums für Informationstechnik-Gestaltung (ITeG) der Universität Kassel. Verantwortlicher Ansprechpartner ist Prof. Dr. Guido Bünstorf (buenstorf<at>uni-kassel.de). Detaillierte Information zum Forschungsprojekt gibt es unter: www.uni-kassel.de/go/wiskidz
wiskidz